

# MINUTES OF EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING HELD 11 JULY 2012

## **The Mayor – Councillor George Simons**

#### Present:

Councillors: Allen, Arculus, Ash, Casey, Cereste, Davidson, Day, Elsey, Fitzgerald, Fletcher, Fower, JA Fox, JR Fox, Goodwin, Harper, Harrington, Hiller, Holdich, Jamil, Johnson, Khan, Knowles, Kreling, Lamb, Lane, Lee, Maqbool, Martin, McKean, Murphy, Nadeem, Nawaz, North, Over, Peach, Rush, Saltmarsh, Sandford, Scott, Seaton, Serluca, Shabbir, Shaheed, Sharp, Shearman, Simons, Stokes, Swift, Thacker, Thulbourn, Todd, Walsh

## 1. Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Dalton, Forbes, Miners, Sanders and Sylvester.

#### 2. Declarations of Interest

Councillor Swift declared a personal non-prejudicial interest in that his sister, Mrs Audrey Chalmers, was listed as one of the recipients of the Honorary Alderman Award.

# 3. Honorary Alderman Award

Councillor Lee addressed the meeting and moved the recommendations contained within the report, including an amendment to recommendation 3, to include Mrs Bobby Day in the list of those former members of Council to be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman.

The recommendations for the award had been made by the Honours Panel and those recipients were former Councillors who had been re-elected for at least three terms and had served a minimum of 11 years continuous service.

Originally the awards were to date back to 1998, when Peterborough became a Unitary Authority, however it was determined that a number of members who had served in excess of the 11 years would not be included in the awards and therefore the awards were dated back further.

The recommendations, including the amendment, were seconded by Councillor North.

Councillor Sharp stated that he would no longer be moving his proposed amendment.

Councillor Fower moved an amendment to the recommendation, this being to remove Neville Sanders from the list of those former members of Council to be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman.

Councillor Sandford seconded the amendment and stated that in future, the process for nominating needed to be more transparent and nominees should fulfil more specific criteria.

A vote was taken (4 for, 38 against, 3 abstentions) and the amendment was defeated.

A vote was taken (42 for, 4 against, 1 abstention) on the original recommendations moved by Councillor Lee, including the amendment to include Mrs Bobby Day in the list of those former members of Council to be awarded the status of Honorary Alderman.

### It was AGREED that Council:

- 1. Supports the principle of honouring former long-serving members of the Council by awarding them Honorary Alderman status;
- 2. Awards badges of office to any former councillor awarded the status of Honorary Alderman at a formal ceremony on a date to be agreed; and
- 3. Awards the status of Honorary Alderman to the following former members of Council:

John Bartlett
John Bleakney
Robert Burke
Audrey Chalmers
Mark Collins
Bobby Day
Yvonne Lowndes
Ray Palmer
David Raines
Geoff Ridgway
Neville Sanders
David Thorpe

Meeting closed at 6.59 p.m.

**MAYOR**